“I don’t know what to wear…”

I went for a run this morning at approximately the same time I’ve been going for a month or so.  The air was crisp and I got to see the sunrise.

My heart and my mind immediately lept to fall and fall leaves, sweaters, scarves, apple picking, and mini sessions…

I love fall photo sessions for so many reasons.

The natural backdrop of colors is stunning

The temperature is generally not to hot or cold, perfect for layering up but also being outside for a while.

I have recently had a few conversations about fall photo sessions and getting them scheduled.

But once you have them on the calendar, I find that many clients start stressing about how they are going to dress their family.

Are they going to all match exactly?

How do you coordinate without matching exactly?

How do I achieve an overall look that I will cherish 10 years from now?

Here are a few helpful tips with some pinsperation

Coordinate, don’t match…

What does that even mean?  DO NOT DRESS EVERYONE IN MATCHING WHITE SHIRTS AND BLUE JEANS ALA 1995.  Oh wait that was only my extended family?

Here are is an example of coordinating outfits

e90efbdb67d6f1816415055476414697

And now if you’re anything like me, you are thinking “well where can I go to actually try on clothes and come up with coordinating outfits…”

My go to suggesting is Old Navy.  I’m not in anyway connected to the company but the reality is that you can literally come up with outfits for the entire family in one store and that is a big deal

Embrace all the layers

To me fall screams “scarves, sweaters, all the cozy warm things.”  We have a saying here in New England where I live “don’t like the weather?  Wait 5 minutes, it will change.”  Adding a sweater, a scarf, a cute hat will not only enable you to add or remove layers should the weather dictate that, it also easily allows for multiple looks without a complete wardrobe change.  Here are some examples where a few layers and accessories can easily be swapped in and out.

5b2a5d914dd6c26d8b19ef3a3b98798f

Comfortable is best, especially when kids are involved

When my daughter was an infant and toddler, basically before she had the ability to voice her own opinion, I used to choose outfits and clothing for her based solely on how they looked.  Well now she is older and she has strong opinions, her main goal when getting dressed is that she is comfortable.  Quite frankly I don’t blame her.  The last thing you want when you are trying to get beautiful pictures for this years Christmas card is for your kids to be fidgeting and looking like they just simply are not having a good time and are about ready to rip off the scratchy collar or ditch the too tight boots.  If you are investing in the photographer and the time and the new clothes, you want the perfect images.  Making sure your kids, spouse and yourself are wearing something they feel comfortable and look cute in will provide confidence that will shine through into the images.

 

Don’t forget the details

Joey and Suzie need haircuts?  Your 3 week old manicure is chipping off?  Sure your photographer might be a wiz at using photoshop, but there are just somethings that can’t be fixed.  Make the appointments and get the haircuts before your have the photos taken.

 

I hope you are encouraged and inspired.  If you are looking for someone to walk you through all the steps to updating your family photos this fall, I’d love to help you.

You can find me at my facebook page

 

Leave a comment